Polymarket Copy Trading in 2026: Every Copied Trade Pays Three Costs the Leader Didn't
Four Polymarket copy-trading tools compared on custody, fees and stated latency, with the arithmetic of copying worked from Polymarket's published fee formula: on a 100-contract crypto trade at 50 cents, the copier is down about 6% of stake before the position moves.
Live now — refreshed every 10 minutes
loading…
- Median trade, 24 h
- –
- One-trade wallets, 24 h
- –
- Trades of $10K+, last hour
- –
- Wallets active, 24 h
- –
Copier's cost on a $50 crypto trade
06%
100 contracts at 50 cents: $1.75 Polymarket taker fee (published formula) + $0.25 platform fee at 0.5% + $1.00 if the leader moved the price one cent
- Tools that state a copy latency
- 02of 4
- LuckyLobster ("sub-50ms", press release) and Laika Labs ("within 60 seconds", third-party guides). Polycopy and Alphascope do not state one
- Leaders profitable again next month
- 0.067.4%
- Vultax measurement across 9,949 wallets, June to July 2026. The decisions persist; the returns are what the copier cannot have
- Realised gains taken by the top 1%
- 044%
- 36 wallets out of 9,902 over 18 June to 14 July 2026. Copying anyone outside them copies mostly noise
The short answer
Copy trading on Polymarket copies a trader's decisions, not their returns. Every copied fill pays three costs the leader did not: price drift during your detection lag, the taker fee on your entry, and the worse fill the leader's own order just created. On Polymarket's thinner books the third dominates. Worked from the published fee formula, a copier who follows a 100-contract buy at 50 cents in a crypto market is down about $3.00 on a $50 stake, 6%, before the market moves at all. Politics markets cost about 4.5%; geopolitics, which Polymarket does not charge fees on, about 2.5%.
The tools differ mainly in custody and automation. Polycopy is non-custodial, free to follow and paper-trade, $30 a month to run live bots, and charges 0.5% per executed trade. LuckyLobster runs agents on managed wallets. Laika Labs and Alphascope are leaderboard-and-alert products that leave execution to you. The Vultax paper-trading desk (preview) is the honest version of a copy product: it fills simulated orders against live prices so the three costs can be measured before any money is at risk.
Last verified 5 September 2026 from each vendor's own pages.
The tools
Four products that let you follow a Polymarket wallet, plus the simulator.
| Tool | How copying works | Custody | Fees | Stated latency | Free tier |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Polycopy | Follow traders; Copy Score on every profile; Premium runs "Real Trading bots" that place live orders and "Auto-close positions" when the leader exits | Non-custodial: "You maintain full ownership of your wallet and funds at all times" | 0.5% flat on executed real trades; none on paper trades | Not stated | Follow unlimited traders, full feed, up to 10 paper-trading bots running 7 to 14 simulated days; Premium $30/mo with 7-day trial |
| Laika Labs | Leaderboard with alerts when a tracked wallet opens or closes; execution is manual | Your wallet | Not stated | "within 60 seconds" per third-party guides; the vendor site blocked automated reading | Free account per third-party guides |
| LuckyLobster | A built-in "Copy Trade" strategy that mirrors "top-performing wallets" inside an autonomous agent | "managed wallets" | Not stated; a paid tier is announced as upcoming | "sub-50ms latency" (press release, 23 February 2026) | Not stated |
| Alphascope wallet tracker | Wallet lookup and a local watchlist for copy research; no execution | n/a | Free | Not stated | Yes |
| Vultax paper trading (preview) | Simulated fills against live Polymarket prices; labelled lag on the desk | No funds | None | Printed on the surface | Free terminal planned; not launched publicly |
Verified 5 September 2026. "Not stated" means the vendor's public pages do not say. A latency claim in a press release is a claim, not a measurement.
The three costs, worked
Polymarket's taker fee is C × feeRate × p × (1 − p), where C is contracts and p the price; makers pay nothing. The rate is 0.07 on crypto, 0.05 on sports, economics, culture and weather, 0.04 on finance, politics, mentions and tech, and zero on geopolitical markets. At p = 0.50 the fee is at its maximum, so the worked example below is the worst case at the most common price.
Suppose the leader buys 100 Yes contracts at 50 cents in a crypto market. Their stake is $50. Your copy, placed as a market order a few seconds later, pays three things the leader did not.
What a copier pays on a $50 trade at 50 cents, by market category
Taker fee at the published rate + 0.5% platform fee + a one-cent worse fill. Share of stake.
Show the numbers
| Category | Cost as share of stake |
|---|---|
| Crypto | 6% |
| Politics | 4.5% |
| Geopolitics | 2.5% |
| Cost | Crypto (rate 0.07) | Politics (rate 0.04) | Geopolitics (no fee) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Taker fee on your entry, 100 × rate × 0.5 × 0.5 | $1.75 | $1.00 | $0.00 |
| Platform fee at 0.5% of stake (Polycopy) | $0.25 | $0.25 | $0.25 |
| Fill one cent worse than the leader's | $1.00 | $1.00 | $1.00 |
| Total, and share of a $50 stake | $3.00 (6.0%) | $2.25 (4.5%) | $1.25 (2.5%) |
The one-cent fill assumption is conservative for a $50 order in a liquid market and optimistic for a $5,000 order in a thin one; the leader's own order is what moved the price, so the larger the leader, the worse your fill. Detection lag is not priced here because no tool states it as a measured number.
- The leader paid none of these if they posted a limit order - "Makers are never charged fees", so a leader who rests orders keeps the 3.5% you paid to take.
- The costs repeat on exit - the same three land again when the position is closed or auto-closed, so a round trip in a crypto market costs a copier roughly 12% of stake at 50 cents.
- Speed helps only if it is measured - a sub-50 ms mirror still takes liquidity and still pays the fee; it reduces drift, not the other two costs.
Do the leaders keep winning?
The case for copying rests on persistence, and persistence exists. Across 9,949 Polymarket wallets active in both June and July 2026, 67.4% of June's profitable wallets were profitable again in July and the rank correlation between months was 0.83. But two facts from the same data cut against the copier.
First, persistence lives among wallets that trade often; one-trade wallets were profitable 12.2% of the time. The wallets worth copying are the busy ones, and busy leaders multiply the three costs by their trade count. Second, gains are concentrated: the top 1% of winning wallets, 36 addresses, took 43.9% of all realised gains over 18 June to 14 July, and the top 10% took 79.5%. Outside that decile a leaderboard rank is mostly noise, and inside it the leaders are the always-on wallets that fill hundreds of trades a day, each of which would charge you the table above.
How to copy without paying for it
Rules that follow from the numbers.
- Paper-trade the leader for a month first - Polycopy's free bots and the Vultax paper desk (preview) both do this; if the simulated copy is not clearly positive net of the fee formula, the live copy will not be either.
- Copy with limit orders, not market orders - resting at the leader's price or better converts the taker fee to zero and removes the worse-fill cost; you will miss some entries, and the entries you miss are the ones that moved against you fastest.
- Prefer fee-free categories - geopolitical markets carry no Polymarket fee, so the copier's structural disadvantage there is the platform fee and the fill alone.
- Follow decisions, not wallets - the useful output of a leader is the market they chose and the side; entering later, with your own size, at a resting price, keeps the information and drops most of the cost.
- Never copy a one-trade wallet - the persistence evidence does not reach it.
How to read the live figures
The strip at the top of this page is rewritten every ten minutes from Polymarket's public leaderboard by day, week and month, its data API's trades of $10,000 or more, its global open interest, and Vultax's record of every fill it observes, including the always-on wallet cohort. The Vi IQ beneath it scores the six domains the Vultax terminal scores for a pair, computed for this page's subject from published inputs, with a domain that cannot be computed shown as unavailable rather than filled in. The figures in the body of the article are the measurement it was written on and are dated; the strip is what the same measurement says now.
The strip shows the median trade Vultax observed in the last day, the share of wallets that traded exactly once, the number of trades of $10,000 or more in the last hour and how many wallets traded in the last day. The first two describe the crowd a copier joins; the third is the flow a copier is late to; the fourth is the size of the pool.
Context from elsewhere
The three costs in this article have a fourth cousin in 2026: the leader may not be who the copier thinks. Columbia researchers flagged about a quarter of Polymarket's volume as wash trading and roughly one wallet in seven, many with no profit, which is what a wallet farming a ranking looks like from the outside; and the CFTC's February 2026 advisory cites insider trading by a candidate on his own race and by a video editor on his channel's contracts. A copier of the first pays to follow noise; a copier of the second follows conduct the Commission prosecutes.
The venues are also changing what can be copied. Polymarket's perpetual futures, launched 3 September with up to 20x leverage and closed to U.S. traders, mean a leader's profit may soon include leveraged positions that a copier on the U.S. exchange cannot hold; and with Kalshi at about 90% of combined contract volume in late August, the leaders on the two venues are increasingly different people.
Method and limits
Tool facts were read from each vendor's own pages on 5 September 2026; where a vendor site blocked automated reading the cell says so and leans on third-party guides, which is weaker evidence. The fee arithmetic uses Polymarket's published formula and rates as of that date and a 0.5% platform fee taken from Polycopy's pricing page; other platforms' fees are not stated. The persistence and concentration figures come from the linked Vultax studies and carry their own short windows. Nothing here is a recommendation to copy any wallet or to trade. Challenge a cell at [email protected]; material changes are logged in the changelog.
Questions this page answers
- Can you copy trade on Polymarket?
- Yes, through third-party bots and trackers that mirror a wallet's trades; the article compares them. Every copied trade pays the leader's price plus the spread, the delay and the size the copier adds to the leader's market.
- How much does copy trading cost?
- The article works three costs: the spread paid on entry, the price move between the leader's fill and the copy, and the impact of the copier's own size. Together they are typically a few points on the entry price, which on a contract priced at 50¢ is most of the edge.
- Is the leader real?
- Not always. Part of the venue's volume is wash trading and some well-timed wallets traded on information they should not have had; the CFTC has cited both. The persistence page on this site gives the base rate for a good month being followed by another.
- Is copy trading legal?
- Copying public trades is not prohibited; what the copier is exposed to is the leader's conduct and the copier's own venue rules. On U.S.-regulated venues the CFTC's 2026 advisory applies to any account, automated or not.
Revision notes
This page is kept current. Each entry records what changed and when; the live figures above refresh on their own.
- Added the wash-trading and insider-trading findings as a fourth cost, and the perpetuals launch and venue split as changes to what can be copied.
- Live figures and a Vi IQ for this subject now refresh every ten minutes on this page from outside sources and Vultax's own tables; a context section, the questions below and these revision notes were added.
Sources and evidence
- Polymarket trading fees
Formula, per-category rates, maker exemption; read 2026-09-05
- Polycopy pricing
Free and Premium tiers, 0.5% execution fee, paper-trading bots; read 2026-09-05
- Polycopy copy trading
Non-custodial model
- LuckyLobster launch release
"sub-50ms" copy trade, managed wallets; 23 February 2026
- Alphascope wallet tracker
Free lookup and watchlist
- Vultax: Do Profitable Polymarket Traders Stay Profitable?
67.4%, 0.83, 12.2%
- Vultax: Where Polymarket Profits Go
Concentration of gains
- Vultax: 1.6% of Polymarket wallets never sleep
Who the busiest leaders are
- Gizmodo — Study finds around a quarter of Polymarket trades are fake (Columbia, Nov 2025)
About 25% of Polymarket volume over three years flagged as wash trading by counterparty structure, peaking near 60% in December 2024; roughly one wallet in seven flagged; many flagged wallets made no profit.
- CFTC — Enforcement Division issues Prediction Markets Advisory (25 Feb 2026)
Insider trading, fraud and manipulation, wash sales and pre-arranged trading, and disruptive trading named as conduct the Commission polices on any designated contract market; cites a candidate trading his own race and a video editor trading on non-public channel information.
- Coinpaprika — Polymarket expands beyond prediction markets with 20x leverage perps (Sep 2026)
Perpetual futures launched 3 September 2026 with up to 20x leverage; 67 markets within hours; U.S. traders barred. Kalshi's bitcoin perpetuals went live 3 June 2026.
- DefiRate — Prediction markets top $11B in contract volume as sports, combos drive Kalshi growth (week of 24–30 Aug 2026)
Kalshi at about 90% of combined contract volume in late August, driven by sports and multi-leg combos; the share is contract volume, not dollars at risk.
Tool facts were read from vendor pages on the stated date and can change. The fee arithmetic is illustrative and uses published rates; actual fills differ. Vultax products are labelled preview and not publicly launched. Nothing here is a recommendation to copy any wallet, and nothing here is financial advice.
Continue your research in Vultax.
Explore crypto and prediction markets, trader analytics and event monitors. Public research views are free to browse.
New studies, by email.
Measured, sourced, and sent once per study. No digests, no promotions.
Continue reading
Best Polymarket Traders: 67% of Last Month's Winners Win Again, and No Leaderboard Says How It Counts
Five Polymarket leaderboards compared on ranking basis, stated method and refresh, against the Vultax measurement of 9,949 wallets: 67.4% of June's profitable wallets were profitable in July, rank correlation 0.83, and one-trade wallets were profitable 12.2% of the time.
Best Polymarket Whale Trackers in 2026: 2 of 8 Tell You How Late Their Alerts Are
Eight third-party Polymarket whale trackers and large-trade alert tools compared on the thing that decides whether an alert is usable: stated latency, plus threshold, venues, channels and price. Read from each vendor's own pages on 5 September 2026.
1.6% of Polymarket Wallets Never Sleep. They Made 58% of All Trades.
Hourly activity for 130,346 Polymarket wallets over 12 days in August and September 2026: 2,080 wallets were active in every hour of the clock and filled 58.4% of 9.82 million trades. The ten busiest wallets alone filled one trade in five. Half of all wallets traded on a single day.