Regulatory intelligence · Europe record
What Europe has done about prediction markets, on the record.
63 recorded actions across 24 national jurisdictions, plus EU-level records, each kept with its date and its source. It reads from the published tracker and carries its cutoff.
This is a source-reviewed record as of 2026-10-28, not a real-time legal-status service. What an authority did, what a venue restricts itself, and what OONI's volunteers observed are kept as three separate facts. Where a market was not tested, that is marked unknown — never read as permitted.
Regulatory intelligence · Europe
One map. The document behind each action.
Prediction-market regulation, country by country: authority actions, written replies and observed access to Polymarket and Kalshi. Select a country to see what the evidence says.
Click or tap a country; use arrow keys within the map, or the country selector. Small jurisdictions use point markers. Grey does not mean permitted.
Boundaries: Natural Earth. EU-wide rules are in the EU record.
Czechia
3 recorded actionsLatest recorded action · 23 Oct 2026
Told Vultax that neither Polymarket nor Kalshi had objected or appealed; payment providers have a standing duty concerning accounts on the blacklist, without individual instructions; the reply names no account for either platform
Published written response
- Written reply
- Ministry of Finance · 2026-10-23
Neither operator has objected or appealed. Payment duties attach to listed accounts, without individual instructions. - Polymarket’s own policy
- Not listedDocumentation checked 2026-10-23; access not tested.
- Observed network access
- No OONI observations in this dataset. Access unknown.
Dated evidence, with each source’s own cutoff. Access observations cover 21 July–19 October 2026. This map is not a determination of lawful access.
Regulators on the record
13 authorities are on the record with us as of 2026-10-28, and counting. 10 published reports, below, are based on their written replies.
- SwedenSpelinspektionenNo investigation or prohibition of Polymarket or Kalshi; licensing depends on the activity and market.
- BelgiumKansspelcommissieNo payment-provider instructions for either operator; reports on blocking effectiveness can be followed up.
- European UnionESMAThe September report does not estimate EU retail participation; API data reflect global trading.
- United KingdomFCAIts Perimeter Report position has not changed; consumers can check firms on the FCA tools.
- CzechiaMinistry of FinanceNeither operator has objected or appealed. Payment duties attach to listed accounts, without individual instructions.
- LatviaState Revenue ServicePolymarket's website is blocked; payments to its operator are not. Two Kalshi companies are on the payment list.
- MaltaMalta Gaming AuthorityPrediction markets may fit Type 2 fixed-odds or Type 3 peer-to-peer licences; individual applications remain confidential.
- GermanyGGLProceedings confirmed against Polymarket and Kalshi. Election bets cannot be licensed.
- SpainDGOJWhether Polymarket is blocked depends on your network. We measured it.
- LithuaniaGaming Control AuthorityPolymarket subject to access and payment measures; no official data or decisions on other prediction-market sites.
Browse the record
Filter by a country or a venue. Each entry keeps the authority, the original date, the evidence it rests on and a link to the source. A filtered view has its own address you can share. A venue filter shows the rows that name that venue — not a complete legal assessment for it.
Showing 3 of 63 recorded actions — European Union.
Request a brief for European Union
EU, ESMAEuropean Union
27 Oct 2026An ESMA spokesperson said the September report used global API data that do not allow an estimate of EU retail participation; ESMA continues to monitor developments
Not specified
Evidence: Published written response
Vultax, written answer, 27 Oct 2026
EU, ESMAEuropean Union
10 Sep 2026Risk report with a chapter on prediction markets: the largest platforms hold no EU authorisation, insider trading is a risk, and the platforms restrict some EU countries but not others
Not specified
Evidence: Authority document
ESMA TRV Risk Monitor No. 2, 2026
EU, ESMAEuropean Union
3 Jul 2026Public statement: an event contract that is a financial instrument is a derivative, falls under the national bans on selling binary options to retail clients, and may be distributed only by an authorised investment firm
Not specified
Evidence: Authority document
ESMA public statement, PDF
Restrictions and observed access
Three different facts, kept in three columns: what the authority ordered, what Polymarket restricts itself, and what OONI's volunteers observed. A market with no tests is unknown, not open.
| Country | Regulator's order | Polymarket's own restriction |
|---|---|---|
| France | ISP block, 16 Jul 2026 | Close-only on website and API |
| Belgium | Polymarket blacklist, 30 Jan 2025; Kalshi, 15 Oct 2026 | Close-only on website and API |
| Italy | ISP block, 10 Jul 2026, in force 27 Jul | Close-only on website and API |
| Germany | Proceedings; no ISP order | Close-only on website and API |
| Poland | Register entry, 8 Jan 2025 | Close-only on website and API |
| Slovakia | List entry, 22 Jun 2026 | Close-only on website and API |
| Netherlands | Penalty order, 20 Jan 2026 | Close-only on website only |
| Ireland | No order; GRAI interventions, 2026 | Close-only on website only |
| Spain | ISP block, 26 May 2026 | Not listed |
| Portugal | Ban, 16 Jan 2026 | Not listed |
| Hungary | ISP block, 16 Jan 2026 | Not listed |
| Czechia | Listed, 13 Jul 2026 | Not listed |
| Lithuania | ISP and payment block, September 2026 | Not listed |
| Romania | Blacklist, 29 Oct 2025 | Not listed |
| Switzerland | ISP block, 26 Nov 2024 | Not listed |
| Cyprus | Blocking list, by 24 Feb 2026 | Not listed |
| Greece | Blacklist, 21 Nov 2025 | Not listed |
| Latvia | Blocked-site list, 25 Nov 2024 | Not listed |
| Denmark | Court-ordered ISP block, 8 Jul 2026 | Not listed |
| Ukraine | Register, 10 Dec 2025 | Crimea, Donetsk and Luhansk only |
| Country | polymarket.com: anomalous/failed of tests | kalshi.com: anomalous/failed of tests | Regulator's order |
|---|---|---|---|
| France | 385 of 472 | no tests | ISP block since 16 Jul 2026 |
| Spain | 381 of 791 | 1,060 of 1,621 | ISP block since 26 May 2026 |
| Switzerland | 2 of 13 | no tests | ISP block since 26 Nov 2024 |
| Sweden | 0 of 6 | no tests | None found |
| Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Hungary, Czechia, Lithuania, Romania, Belgium, Ukraine, Poland, Cyprus, Greece, Latvia, Denmark, Slovakia | no tests | no tests | Orders in the record above |
What is next
Dates already on the record for a decision, a deadline or a review. These are scheduled events, not forecasts.
- 15 Oct 2026Czechia, Ministry of FinanceInternet providers must block kalshi.com from this day; polymarket.com has been listed since 13 July
- About 26 Nov 2026Spain, DGOJSix-month limit on the sanction case opened on 26 May; a fine of 1 to 50 million euros is possible under article 42.3 of the Gambling Act
- PendingUnited Kingdom, Gambling CommissionDecision on IG View Limited's application for a remote General Betting Standard - Real Event licence, shown as pending on the public register on 26 October
- PendingItaly, TAR LazioDecision on the merits of Polymarket's appeal against the ADM block; the urgent appeal was refused on 5 August
- PendingNetherlands, courtPolymarket's challenge to the Kansspelautoriteit's 420,000 euro penalty, forfeited after the 17 February deadline
- PendingDenmark, appealPolymarket's appeal against the Frederiksberg court's blocking order; on 6 October the Danish Gambling Authority said a remand had been claimed and the appeal was still pending
- 1 Jan 2027FinlandThe new licensing regime opens; no Finnish action on prediction markets has been found
Country brief: Germany
Germany: prediction-market evidence brief. A worked example of a single-country brief, as of 2026-10-28: the authority's actions, the venue's own restriction, any OONI observations, the sources, and what the brief cannot tell you.
Authority actions
- Germany, GGL7 Oct 2026
Confirmed to Vultax that administrative proceedings are open against Polymarket and Kalshi, both responded, geoblocking is in place, and no internet-provider block was requested
- Nine regulators: Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland17 Jun 2026
Joint statement at the opening of the World Cup warning about unlicensed prediction markets and pledging enforcement; the GGL told Vultax on 7 October that no joint measures had followed yet
- Germany, GGL5 Sep 2025
Public warning naming Polymarket: paid bets on social and political events cannot be licensed in Germany
Policy and observed access
- Polymarket's own restriction
- Close-only on website and API
- Regulator's order
- Proceedings; no ISP order
OONI observations over 21 July to 19 October 2026
No OONI measurement for Germany in this window. That is an absence of observation, not evidence that access was open.
What this brief cannot tell you: A dated evidence brief from the published source record, not legal advice or a determination of lawful access. Authority actions, venue policy and network observations are separate. No measurement means no observation in the stated dataset, not zero interference. Source notes identify reported or unlinked material. This sample has not been commissioned by a customer.
Follow and download
Follow Europe updates
An Atom feed of this record's published revisions. It updates when the source record changes — it is a feed to add to a reader, not an email alert, and there is no account or sign-up. We do not run an autonomous watch on your behalf.
/research/europe/feed.xmlDownload the record
The full public snapshot as JSON — every action, source, restriction and measurement with its cutoff. A single country's brief downloads from the country brief above.
/research/europe/data.jsonPrefer the prose? The full study is Regulatory actions on Polymarket and Kalshi in Europe. Data Vultax collects from public sources is published under Creative Commons Attribution 4.0; see the data page for the licence and citation line.